Monday, February 23, 2009

Started a painting...yeah. Really.

So Josh and I hit up the studio the other day and in a wild turn of events I actually started a painting. For those of you that don't know, I used to paint, and I haven't in a long time. 
When I say I used to paint, it's pretty much that I painted like crazy in college, took every painting class known to man, and had a large body of work to show for it, but then when I got out, it fell by the wayside, being replaced by work on the Fatsquad book and other illustration projects. I slowly painted less and less until I just didn't at all. 
Last year I tried to start again and got a little ways into a painting of Franketstein holding a battle axe, and lifting up a severed Zombie head. Oh and lightning was flashing down behind him. An epic pose. But I never finished it. 

Yeah.  I know. It was a gem.
But here's the new one, it's a portrait of Josh. Who knows if I'll finish it ever.  I got really washy with the acrylic towards the end so the paper is a little warped but it usually dries and works itself out. If not I'll just say I did it on purpose for texture. 

But I had fun doing it for a bit. Felt really good to throw some paint around again. 
I don't get to the studio nearly enough, partly because I'm driving around an uninspected car.  But I'm going to try to fix that. 2009. The year of art. 


Monday, February 2, 2009

After a month with no update...


I'm back.
The weird thing is, I typed that header, and then actually checked the date, and yep, it's been EXACTLY a month. Way to go Rich, you officially suck!
What reason could I possibly have for not updating this? I'll tell you. I haven't done any art.
Yeah, it's true. The two christmas presents I hadn't finished, have just been picked away at over the last month, until I finally sat down and finished them over the last few days. It's pathetic and I have no excuse for it except for my own laziness and the fact that the past two weekends I've had a house full of people, which translates into Mike and Hilton.  They get mad if I try to do anything but sit in the living room and watch tv with them. haha.
On a good note though, I've been writing a bunch. I'm working on a short story, a comic script, and multiple rhyming stories. It's a lot of different kind of work, which I'm finding I like because some nights my mind is in a comic writing mode, and others it's looking to write a few paragraphs of a story.  You can't force yourself to write something your mind isn't in the mood for. At least I can't. 
Other than that, Lost and Battlestar are back. They are going head to head for the "best show ever" title, and after watching BSG from this week, I have to say that LOST better step up it's game a bit because Admiral Adama and the gang not only landed a touchdown with this weeks episode, but they also booted in the extra point, and THEN rushed the QB on the very next play and put him out until next season.  Man, if Justin read my blog he'd be pumped at all those football references!
Now I'm going to take a chance here, by posting these two new art pieces, because I still haven't given them to the people who I made them for. But chances are, they won't check this thing, because let's face it, Nobody does. Haha. This will be the one time they both log on and check it though, I know it. But I'm still going to take the chance, because I'm a gamblin' man, and I also have been itching up update this thing.
So this chance I will take.
Here goes...
Optimus Prime, Quasar, Multiple Man, and Wonderman. Ink on Bristol, then colored in good ole' Photoshop. My usual. 

Aaaaand this one...
Batzarro...Ink on bristol, then photoshop. wooo.

I suppose thats enough for this one. 
Can't wait to update this thing next month!
(that was a joke, lets hope I don't wait that long)