Sunday, January 30, 2011

Oh hey... it's 2011...



Honestly I don't know why I don't just delete this. I really don't. I cannot keep a blog. I just can't. My free time, when bloggers would usually blog, is taken up by Call of Duty: Black Ops, writing, or reading. If I'm not tearing through a novel, it's a pile of comics or trade paperbacks. All that and I try to get outside every weekend and find myself in some sort of adventure situation. This weekend it was taking the wrong trail and ending up having to trudge 5 miles through deep snow and then walk a mile back on the road in the dark.Fun stuff.
But 2010 found me being worse and worse at recording my dreams and doing less and less art than ever. I pretty much sucked worse than I ever have, at everything in 2010.
I'd like to make some grand speech about how that ends n
ow and I'm turning over a new leaf but let's face it, blog, that's not very likely. But maybe the fact that I'm not going to do that will cause me to maybe fix it. Then we can all be surprised instead of let down. And by we all I mean me, when I come back here and see how long it's been since I've posted.

What did I do for art last year? Pssssssssh. Not much.





Yep. I did this sketch cover of Deadpool with Headpool. I also did...

This pic of Deadpool with Wolverine.
One of these sold online for $100. The other? Not so much.

Hope 2011 is better. I hope everyone I know has an awesome year and is productive.
Especially me.

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Rogue Waves and Yellow Sledge hammers...

So it's not quite every few days, but look at this, it hasn't even been a month and I'm updating! Yeah I know I'm like three days away from a month. Ah well.

I've had some dreams. Some noteworthy, some not. I've been doing a semi good job of keeping track of them and writing them down, but I just exhausted my notepad and need to find another because supposedly using the same dream journal every time is a part of the lucid dreaming techniques.

I had a few that aren't worth telling the whole story. One about a princess who takes off all of her royal garb to blend in with the common folk and ends up boarding a boat and as I'm saying goodbye my friend Reinert comes by and says he's going too, but instead of jumping on the boat he just starts swimming with a bunch of other people and I'm terribly concerned because they are going on a long journey and there's no way they can swim there.

In another dream found walking with my sister Heidi when the writer Joe Hill walked up next to us. It was strange because we were walking on a main road, but it was covered with about 3 feet of hard packed ice with huge ruts that would make driving impossible. He invited us into his trailer, and then after we rode Go-Karts and I saw people in line that I knew, including my other sister, Liz, who told me what she was naming her child, Owen Sabre, which I asked her..."you mean like light SABRE???"

So those are kind of boring, but then I had a couple good ones. One of them was a lucid dreaming breakthrough. I dreamed that I was on the dirt road leading to my moms house and it was night time. There were a group of people down the road and I kept trying to get their attention by rolling blue rubber balls in their direction, but they never looked my way. Eventually I gave up and noticed a brand new telephone pole and figured that it had been put in after the recent wind storms. There was a yellow sledge hammer leaving up against the pole and after a brief look around, I decided I was going to steal it. As I made my way up the dirt road I saw that the only car in the driveway was mine.
This was the point in the dream where my mind started figuring out that this was a dream. I remember thinking that it was strange that my car was the only one there, but then I thought it was also strange that I drove it there, because at the time in real life ,I had not driven the car in a couple months because it was uninspected and unregistered. Instantly I did a couple of my lucid dreaming tests, the first was counting my fingers, which worked fine, and then I tried jumping, as I walked to the top of a hill.
I went up, and started coming down for a second, but then it was like I caught a draft and just continued back up. I began rising higher and higher, and when I was about twenty feet off the ground I let out a cheer of excitement and held the hammer up in victory, and then a moment later, I woke up.
So mad. This is one of the big parts of lucid dreaming that they talk about. Flying. I did it, but they also say the first few times you get so excited that you wake yourself up. Ah well. A milestone in my quest to fully lucid dream.

The last one on record I have was pretty action packed. I was riding on a boat in a harbor with some other people. There were boats all around and everyone was having fun. Out of nowhere, a siren goes off and people start screaming about rogue waves. Theres no time to act, we look behind us and theres a wave, hundreds of feet tall that is looming.
Screams ring out as the first of these monster waves crashes over, leaving our boat on it's side. Somehow I've managed to hold on, even though ever other person has been washed out. I look down in the water and see some of them swimming back towards the boat.
But suddenly I'm looking down on the scene from a plane and the people are talking about how more waves are coming in. I can see that there is a train of boats linked together with two huge cords and that they are being pulled along by a guy. Suddenly they all get hit with another wave and I'm back in the boat, helping people climb aboard. I notice that not only boats, but also half submerged cars and planes are linked by the cords and someone starts to scream that the guy cannot hold it any longer and despite another wave looming over us so big that it's blocking out the sun, I dive off the side of the boat.
This instant, heroic action music kicks in. Underwater, just as the mans grip slips, I catch the cords and in a feat of superhuman strength, start pulling them all to shore. I remember thinking in my head that I must be crazy because I was hearing action music and theres no way that could be real. I think this was the point where I was almost breaking through the dream, but like dreams often do, it quickly gave me something to think about.
On shore everyone is excited that I brought them back. People start saying that I am a hero and I need to go back to the village. So I walk back with some other people and I have a rifle over my shoulder. We get back and I got the idea that I was being brought to the people in charge, who everyone was scared of.
Word of my superhuman feats have already reached the village though and people are peering out of alleys and windows as I pass. I get to the people in charge and they clearly do not believe what they have been hearing. They start telling me that I need to follow what they say and I set the rifle down on the ground, telling them that I don't even need it.
Theres a tense moment where everyone is staring at me and I'm just glaring at them wide eyed.
I have a feeling that there was going to be a huge fight, but...of course. I woke up.

Ah well. Nothing like making yourself into a superhero in your dreams.
I know this is a lot to read and I'm pretty certain nobody will be reading it anytime soon. Thats all good. I'm still going to keep writing them.
Sometimes.
-R

Sunday, February 14, 2010

I refuse to let this thing go a year without being updated...

2010 is here, and with this futuristic year, comes the promise that I will try my damnedest to keep up with this blog. But come on, friends. Lets face it. The chances of that happening are pretty damned slim. Chances are better that Everyone who reads this blog will get simultaneously struck by lightning. Yes, I know that only 2 or 3 people ever even glance at this thing, but still, even that few make up staggering odds.
So yeah.
Basically, as I look back and see what my last entry was about, I suck at having a blog. Even an art blog. Most of my creative time has been spent writing various kinds of stories and scripts over the last few months so I didn't have many pictures to post. Pair that with me not being confident in posting unfinished writings here and you have a recipe for disaster.
But what I've come up with, is that maybe, just maybe this blog should be for a little bit of everything. Some art. Some rambling. Maybe some writing. But then I had another idea. Perhaps I will use it as a sort of dream journal too.
Now why the hell would I do that? Well I've been studying Lucid dreaming for a few months now and while a lapsed a bit in the middle, I'm back in it full force and I'm getting really good at remembering my dreams most days. I scrawl them down in my real life dream journal, but some of them are interesting enough for people to read, I think. From mini, deformed versions of UFC fighters, to floating platforms covered in trees and bushes that house mini humanoids, to hell, even the occasional dream about watching Spiderman 4 in the theater(but it turns out to be a weird porno movie where Mary Jane is covered in tattoos. I know, hot, right?) then hunting for ghosts with a friends dog. My brain is all over the place while I'm sleeping.
Or not. But it will be a good exercise in writing for me, every other day or so...(cue an audience laughing like it's the funniest thing they have ever heard). Hey. I'll try. I got a lot of crap going on.
But I should post something, to prove that I still do art once in a while...


I did this for Al for Christmas this year. Sinestro inspecting the Infinity Gauntlet. I had a lot of fun doing this one and I am pretty proud of how it came out, except for the placing of the Gauntlet. To get it to fit a certain size frame I had to do it this way. I might actually move some things around for a final version. Who knows.
So ends 2010's first blog entry from me. Lets hope there are more...


Sunday, May 31, 2009

I suck at having a blog.

And a tumblr. And a myspace.
You name it. Anything online. I don't update.
I'm horrible about it. 
But seeing as I'm nearly delirious from lack of sleep and I'm sitting here at my computer squinting through stingy eyes, for some reason I thought this was the perfect time for an update. 
Just as a side note, my Itunes just started playing Kid Rock, and I'm not changing it. 
I've just spent the last couple hours sketching and scanning some drawings and stuff, so while I don't have anything really witty to talk about, perhaps I'll just toss a few of these gems on here for whoever stumbles upon this blog to gawk at for a few seconds before they click away to some YouTube video. Like this one
But here ya go.

Zombie Josh. For no reason. I like it and I can't wait to color it. I'll probably do the whole gang so I can do a pinup to sell at conventions. Speaking of conventions...


This is one of many we did at Free Comic Book Day 2009. These were lots of fun and people bought them up like mad. 
Thats that. 
I'll post again soon. I have lots of stuff I'm working on. 



Monday, February 23, 2009

Started a painting...yeah. Really.

So Josh and I hit up the studio the other day and in a wild turn of events I actually started a painting. For those of you that don't know, I used to paint, and I haven't in a long time. 
When I say I used to paint, it's pretty much that I painted like crazy in college, took every painting class known to man, and had a large body of work to show for it, but then when I got out, it fell by the wayside, being replaced by work on the Fatsquad book and other illustration projects. I slowly painted less and less until I just didn't at all. 
Last year I tried to start again and got a little ways into a painting of Franketstein holding a battle axe, and lifting up a severed Zombie head. Oh and lightning was flashing down behind him. An epic pose. But I never finished it. 

Yeah.  I know. It was a gem.
But here's the new one, it's a portrait of Josh. Who knows if I'll finish it ever.  I got really washy with the acrylic towards the end so the paper is a little warped but it usually dries and works itself out. If not I'll just say I did it on purpose for texture. 

But I had fun doing it for a bit. Felt really good to throw some paint around again. 
I don't get to the studio nearly enough, partly because I'm driving around an uninspected car.  But I'm going to try to fix that. 2009. The year of art. 


Monday, February 2, 2009

After a month with no update...


I'm back.
The weird thing is, I typed that header, and then actually checked the date, and yep, it's been EXACTLY a month. Way to go Rich, you officially suck!
What reason could I possibly have for not updating this? I'll tell you. I haven't done any art.
Yeah, it's true. The two christmas presents I hadn't finished, have just been picked away at over the last month, until I finally sat down and finished them over the last few days. It's pathetic and I have no excuse for it except for my own laziness and the fact that the past two weekends I've had a house full of people, which translates into Mike and Hilton.  They get mad if I try to do anything but sit in the living room and watch tv with them. haha.
On a good note though, I've been writing a bunch. I'm working on a short story, a comic script, and multiple rhyming stories. It's a lot of different kind of work, which I'm finding I like because some nights my mind is in a comic writing mode, and others it's looking to write a few paragraphs of a story.  You can't force yourself to write something your mind isn't in the mood for. At least I can't. 
Other than that, Lost and Battlestar are back. They are going head to head for the "best show ever" title, and after watching BSG from this week, I have to say that LOST better step up it's game a bit because Admiral Adama and the gang not only landed a touchdown with this weeks episode, but they also booted in the extra point, and THEN rushed the QB on the very next play and put him out until next season.  Man, if Justin read my blog he'd be pumped at all those football references!
Now I'm going to take a chance here, by posting these two new art pieces, because I still haven't given them to the people who I made them for. But chances are, they won't check this thing, because let's face it, Nobody does. Haha. This will be the one time they both log on and check it though, I know it. But I'm still going to take the chance, because I'm a gamblin' man, and I also have been itching up update this thing.
So this chance I will take.
Here goes...
Optimus Prime, Quasar, Multiple Man, and Wonderman. Ink on Bristol, then colored in good ole' Photoshop. My usual. 

Aaaaand this one...
Batzarro...Ink on bristol, then photoshop. wooo.

I suppose thats enough for this one. 
Can't wait to update this thing next month!
(that was a joke, lets hope I don't wait that long)


Friday, January 2, 2009

Call of Duty...


I did this piece for my little brother, who spends his days and nights playing COD for PS3.  He is a lunatic for it. He knows every cheat, every hiding spot, every inch of every map. It's crazy.
So I did some research on the uniform, and also the gun. It's an MP40 and it's pretty much spot on. I think the only thing I took liberties with was the helmet, because I didn't feel like drawing the netting over it. Ah well. The muzzle flash and blur on the spent shells were just cool after thoughts while in photshop coloring. I think it came out pretty boss.